REPORT: The 12 Republican senators who defied Trump on emergency declaration 

Sign up for our newsletter
BY TEAM DML / MARCH 14, 2019 /

GET the DML NEWS APP (FREE) Click Here

Below is a report that DML News App gives a 4 OUT OF 4 STARS trustworthiness rating. We base this rating on the following criteria:

  • Provides named sources
  • Reported by more than one notable outlet
  • Does not insert opinion or leading words
  • Includes supporting video, direct statements, or photos

Click here to read more about our rating system.

As the most reliable and balanced news aggregation service on the internet, DML News offers the following information published by

Twelve Senate Republicans from different corners of the party banded together Thursday to deliver President Trump the biggest rebuke of his presidency, voting to disapprove of his emergency declaration for the Southern border.

The Republican rebels joined every single Senate Democrat in the chamber, who also voted to block Trump’s emergency declaration, which grants him access to $3.6 billion in military construction funding to build border barriers.

The article goes on to state the following:

In the end, the vote boiled down to an effort by GOP lawmakers to preserve their power of the purse, even though they agree with Trump’s desire to secure the border to halt the flow of drugs and illegal immigrants.

The 12 Republican senators who voted against Trump’s National Emergency Declaration are:

  • Susan Collins (Maine)
  • Lisa Murkowski (Alaska)
  • Rand Paul (Ky.)
  • Mike Lee (Utah)
  • Rob Portman (Ohio)
  • Pat Toomey (Pa.)
  • Lamar Alexander (Tenn.)
  • Roy Blunt (Mo.)
  • Mitt Romney (Utah)
  • Marco Rubio (Fla.)
  • Jerry Moran (Kan.)
  • Roger Wicker (Miss.)

To get more information about this article, please visit To weigh in, leave a comment below.

DML News App offered you the above aggregated article preview as part of our ongoing effort to educate and inform people around the world about news, events, and politics. We encourage you to obtain additional information by visiting

Sign up for our newsletter

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *